What sort of accountant am I?

Ok, so if I don’t see myself as another ‘proactive’ accountant, what type am I?

I like to think of myself as someone my client’s can rely on for support at all times. Whether that’s when times are tough and everyone needs to muck in to get through, or when the business is flourishing and things need to be kept under control and make the most of the good opportunities.

I like to provide a great service and be prepared to go a little bit further than most.

For example I had the opportunity to see a prospective client but the only time he could meet me was on Sunday afternoon. No problem for me, but he was taken aback that I was prepared to meet him then and give up part of my weekend.

My rationale was, why should he have to give up a day’s pay just to meet me?

Whether it’s a Sunday afternoon, a Tuesday evening or 6am on a cold Monday morning in January I am happy to meet a client. It demonstrates that I listen to them, understand their business and want to provide the type of service that they will call great and will recommend to others.

The same principal goes for the ‘use of home as office’ spreadsheet. By giving a little I’m (hopefully) demonstrating that I will give a lot more to any business that chooses me to be their accountant.

About Mark Telford

I run a small vibrant accountancy practice. We're growing rapidly by offering clients a top class personalised service. There is no one size fits all approach at Telford Associates, we provide services tailored to our clients and develop these based on our understanding of their business and their personal needs and aspirations. We stay in regular contact with our clients all through the year, not just popping up at the year end to complete the accounts and tax returns. If you're fed up with a poor service or high fees from your accountant, who never returns e-mails or phone calls, please get in touch. I'm confident we can provide you with the service you deserve.
This entry was posted in accountant, accounts, business advice, business support and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

